Pino Daniele: Legendary Italian musician comes to Toronto


  (4 giugno 2013)

 

For over three decades, Pino Daniele has successfully created a unique brand of world music by blending pop, blues, jazz, and Neapolitan and Middle Eastern sounds. His 1977 solo debut, Terra mia, demonstrates Daniele’s “taramblù,” a combination of tarantella, rhumba, and blues. Pino Daniele performs at the TD Toronto Jazz Festival on Monday, June 24 at 8pm

Since then, Daniele has continued to expand his melodic palette by collaborating with several international artists like Luciano Pavarotti, Eros Ramazzotti, Wayne Shorter, and Pat Metheny.

And on June 24, Daniele is bringing his distinctive music to Toronto’s Nathan Phillips Square for the TD Toronto Jazz Festival. Prior to his visit, Panoram Italia talked to the Neapolitan singer/songwriter about his achievements and inspirations.

PI: Where did the idea for your latest CD, La Grande Madre, originate?

PD: It’s a record that’s connected to jazz, the blues but also to the Mediterranean. It refers to the Earth as well as our roots. It’s also the mixed blood of music. Italy is the centre of the Mediterranean. Its culture has not only been affected over time and influenced by Arab as well as African and European music, but also by the blues and American music. All of this is part of our modern musical culture. All of this, for me is La Grande Madre.     

PI: Your song “O Fra”attempts to rediscover Parlesia. Can you tell us more about Parlesia and why you felt it was necessary to revisit this lost language?

PD: It’s just a Neapolitan slang used by street vendors and musicians in order to trick customers. They didn’t want others to understand them. The song itself is not just a trip through musical notes, but also through memories, encounters, and language. I wanted to revisit the past generation and my childhood growing up in Napoli.

PI: You’ve been successful for over three decades. What is it like to be an artist in Italy in 2013, and how has it changed since you first started?

PD: I’ve seen many things change. I must say that no matter what has happened my research hasn’t changed after all these years, neither has my hunger to create music. I still feel part of the old generation – a relic that has survived over the years. But I don’t like to consider myself an Italian artist. I feel very connected to the entire world. I like to consider myself as a universal artist, in touch with all cultures and people. That’s why I sing the blues, because everyone feels them. Essentially, I don’t think I fit within the Italian panorama, more like a “fish out of water.”

PI: After all of the songs, tours, and albums, what is your favourite or most sentimental song that you have recorded?      

PD: I have two. The first is the song I wrote for my city called “Napule è.” The other is “Yes, I Know my Way” because it’s more of a rock song and I love to play the guitar. Whenever I hear them, I get memories from when I was just a young kid starting out.  

PI: What emotions come over you when you hear 60,000 people sing “Napule” at the San Paolo Stadium in Naples?

PD: To hear the San Paolo sing it in unison, I feel immensely proud as an artist but first and foremost as a Neapolitan.

PI: Are there any Canadian artists you would like to work with in the future?

PD: There are so many great artists; I would love to work with Celine Dion — such a beautiful woman with a great voice. Of course, in the past I did write the lyrics for Gino Vannelli’s “Parole per mio Padre.”

PI: What can we expect from you on the night of June 24?

PD: Spectators can expect a very Mediterranean world and feel, of course with my touch. There will be more songs that reflect who I am today, but also older songs that have defined me. Lots of jazz and blues always provides a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere.

PI: What do you think of Toronto?

PD: The first time I visited I thought it was very beautiful and big. I had the pleasure of visiting in the summer but I don’t think I could ever spend a winter there. It’s too cold for my Mediterranean soul.

PI: You have a large following around the world, but how do you hope to reach the third and fourth generations of Italian-Canadians?

PD: With emotion and feelings. I feel that many third or fourth generation Italian- Canadians might think of Italian music as the stuff their nonni listen to, but Italy produces incredible modern music, from blue to jazz to rock. I want to reach some of these younger generations, inspire them with a Mediterranean feel.

 

written by Dante Di Iulio

Informazioni su Giorgio

Studente di Informatica presso Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II / "PinoDanielomane" / appassionato di musica, qualsiasi genere essa sia

Pubblicato il 07/06/2013, in Collaborazioni, Concerti, Discografia, Interviste, Musica, Napoli, Notizie, Spettacoli, Tour con tag , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Aggiungi il permalink ai segnalibri. Lascia un commento.

Rispondi

